Feeding the Fish

25 May

Wow, yesterday’s blog post went down really well! I’m so pleased you all found the joy in amongst all the other stuff, and took it as inspirational rather than miserable.

I feel I should share my two online heroes that helped me in the writing of that blog.

Keri Smith

I’ve talked about Keri before, but I continue to feel her influence all the time, even subconsciously. Without her, I wouldn’t have started living so playfully without feeling stupid.

I urge you all to have a look at any of her books. ‘Wreck This Journal‘ is particularly good for freeing your creativity.

Allie Brosh

You may have seen Hyperbole and a Half before and not realised – she drew the cartoon which has led to almost everyone I know saying ‘all the things‘ and why I threaten to lick people who don’t leave me alone.

The other day she wrote the most truly amazing blog about how it feels to be depressed. It was fun, honest and sad. I was halfway through writing my own, and it’s partly why I put off publishing it, but also why I broke up the text with photos.

My particular favourite section is about the dead fish. It’s extremely frustrating when you’re depressed and everyone tries to find the reason why. It’s human nature, I know, but I could totally relate to Allie’s drawings, especially this one.

20130525-110546.jpg

So from now on, I’m going to use the phrase ‘my fish are dead’ when I feel like crap, and it can also be a siding scale – ‘please leave me alone, my fish are almost dead’ for example. If I feel good, my fish can be jumping. You get the picture.

That’s why this post is called ‘Feeding the Fish’ – I’m going to start posting ideas to take you out of your comfort zone if you’re not a natural adult player, but hopefully that will ease you in slowly without you feeling stupid.

I also hasten to add that I do not for one minute think anyone whose fish are dead is in that situation because they haven’t played enough, or that playing will feed every fish. I’m just using it as an analogy because its what keeps that big black dog (an analogy some other people prefer) from my door.

Leave a Reply

